Catalogue of Life Global Team

The Catalogue of Life Global Team (max 20 members) consists of active participants who contribute to the taxonomic and IT policy, and to the design of the work programme. Team members bring in expertise in the field of taxonomy, biodiversity informatics and/or as Global Species Database (GSD) or regional checklist custodians. The Team develops criteria for selecting global and regional taxonomic content, ensures the project’s liaison in the taxonomic and informatics communities, recommends a work programme to the Directors, monitors progress of work and deals with quality maintenance issues. It meets every 6 – 9 months, rotating between continents. Working Groups (max. 15 persons) may be set up by the CoL Global Team for special areas. Three working groups exist: Information Systems, Taxonomy, and Funding Groups. The working groups are led by a member of the CoL Global Team but may include co-opted non-members.

Global Team – Members

  • Leen Vandepitte (Chair), Belgium
  • Wouter Addink (Ex Officio), Netherlands
  • Nicolas Bailly, Philippines
  • Olaf Bánki, Netherlands
  • Thierry Bourgoin, France
  • Maria Marta Cigliano, Argentina
  • Mark Costello, New Zealand
  • Edward DeWalt, United States
  • Markus Döring, Germany
  • Susan Fyfe, Australia
  • Donald Hobern, Australia
  • Li-Qiang Ji, China
  • David Nicolson, USA
  • Thomas Orrell, United States
  • Thomas Pape
  • Richard Pyle, United States
  • David Remsen, United States
  • Yuri Roskov (Ex Officio), United States
  • Peter Schalk (Ex Officio), Netherlands
  • Jacek Swedo, Poland

Information Systems Group

  • David Remsen (Chair), United States
  • Wouter Addink, Netherlands
  • Dmitry Dmitriev, Netherlands
  • Markus Döring, Denmark
  • David Eades, United States
  • Bart Vanhoorne, Belgium
  • Li-Qiang Ji, China
  • Tim Robertson, Denmark
  • Franck Theeten, Belgium​

Taxonomy Group

  • Nicolas Bailly (Chair), Philippines
  • Thierry Bourgoin, France
  • Paul Kirk, United Kingdom
  • Tom Orrell, United States
  • Yuri Roskov (Ex Officio), United States
  • Leen Vandepitte, Belgium
  • Aaike De Wever, Belgium